The Pineapple Daisy Recipe Book: Sensational Fruit Design to Delight Your Senses

Lindy Orist and Zantia Archuleta Abeyta
AuthorHouse (2010)
ISBN 9781438961675
Reviewed by Irene Watson for Reader Views (02/10)

Until I received this book for review I had no idea how the beautiful flowers and designs are made out of fruit.  Orist and Abeyta are my heros!  For something I thought was extremely difficult that I wouldn’t even attempt, these two women gave me a new outlook in “The Pineapple Daisy Recipe Book.”  In reality, it’s as simple as one-two-three.  Now, at this time you might be saying “it’s easy for you to say.”  And, my comment to that is “yes it is, because making designs out of fruit is extremely simple.” All you need are instructions, a few tools, and the ingredients.  Fear of failure doesn’t even have room in this venture.

I was intrigued with the chocolate dipping.  I’ve done chocolate dipping before but I’ve never decorated the strawberries in the way Orist and Abeyta show us to do.  I had so much fun!  After following some of the designs they show, I experimented with my own.  The end result actually looked too good to eat.

My next experiment was to make a fruit flower bouquet.  To my surprise I had to use a head of iceberg lettuce in the pot as my base.  What an ingenious idea!  It sure made the skewers that held the flowers very secure.  Actually the lettuce isn’t seen at all because it is covered with green kale.  The flowers were extremely easy to make and placing them in the arrangement was fun.

By the way, “The Pineapple Daisy” is actually a fruit flower shop in Old Colorado City, Colorado (just out of Colorado Springs).  Do I recommend this book?  You bet I do!   This is a perfect book for those that want to create a fruit flower bouquet.  The instructions in “The Pineapple Daisy Recipe Book” by Lindy Orist and Zantia Archuleta Abeyta are simple, the ingredients are readily available, and the needed tools can be found in any kitchen.  The only thing left is to have fun and I can’t imagine anyone not having fun with a project like this.



Posted on February 27, 2010, in Book Reviews, Cooking & Food. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

