FROM THE VIEW OF A CHILD

Guest Post by Ey Wade

As any normal adult I tend to worry about the safety of children when riding in automobiles. Especially when there is the potential for the child to be left unattended in the vehicle. I thought, would it make more of a point if the need for safety is begged for through the voice of a child. I penned an open letter.

 

FROM THE VIEW OF A CHILD

Dear Caregiver,

Spring is near and summer is approaching quickly. I know that you will be planning outdoor activities that will take us away from the center or home. I have been waiting in trepidation for these events throughout the entire cold, wet winter. So many of my friends died because of a lack in observation in childcare center this past summer. Some even died because their parents forgot them in the car!  In the hot car! I don’t want to be like them. I am wondering if you will be aware of me.

  • Will you remember to buckle me in my car seat or remind me to buckle my seatbelt?
  • Will you remember I am in the car or van and to count heads before you lock up and go about your day?
  • Will you remember that I am not a bag of groceries that you can leave sit in the car while you make a ‘quick’ trip in the store, post office, gas station?  If I don’t behave as you wish, show me the correct way. If you think it is easier to run in and leave me in the car, ask yourself if it would be easier to leave me in a coffin?

 I don’t want to be like my friends so I am asking you to make sure the air conditioner is working.  Children get hot faster and dehydrate quicker than adults. Check the vans and cars before you lock them to make sure I am out.

  • Don’t leave me for even a minute. If you don’t have my hand or haven’t kissed my face, you have forgotten me.

About the Author: Ey Wade considers herself to be a caged in frustrated author of thought provoking, mind bending eBooks, an occasional step-in parent, a fountain of knowledge, and ready to share. She is the author of The Perfect Solution the story of a parent’s worse nightmare. A three year old is mistakenly given to a stalker by his preschool-teacher. 

http://wade-inpublishing.com

Posted on June 28, 2012, in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

