Hall Monitoring

Guest Post by Dick Warn

There was a period of time in my life, almost 40 years, when I assumed responsibility for setting other people straight. I was judge, jury, and near-sighted dictator; an unaccomplished, nasty know-it-all.

What drove me to be so silly? More than anything else it was my fear of being wrong. I was living two lives; the person I pretended to be, and the real me who was silently ashamed of what I had become. The heart of my various problems was lack of integrity. I was lying to myself and trying to fool others. I so wanted to feel important. 

Dr. Kenneth McFarland, one of America’s most respected public speakers, said, “Before you can say something you must first become something.”

It is our inner person who speaks the loudest. The only people we actually fool, other than ourselves, are those who want to be fooled. Everyone else sees right through our masks.

Once I got honest with myself and quit pretending to be someone I wasn’t, life became so much easier. It was as if a great weight had lifted off my shoulders.

What made all the difference came to me the instant I first saw that I was the only person in the entire world that I could change. Everyone has the freedom to do whatever they choose. Once I saw that clearly, I limited my thoughts to my own stacks of garbage which more than filled my plate.

Hall monitoring is an insane waste of time.

Dick Warn is the author of The Miracle Minute, a weekly email sent free to readers around the world. www.TheMiracleMinute.com His latest book, Mystical Mentor can be previewed at www.MysticalMentor.com

Posted on March 6, 2013, in Personal Growth. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

