Graceful Acceptance

Guest Post by Dick Warn

One very difficult fact of life I was finally forced to accept is that everything “outside” of myself is beyond my control. For years I assumed that the most valuable thing I could do was to point out where others had stepped over the line and had done something wrong. I was an unlicensed fault-finder, a truly irritating know-it-all who didn’t know how little I knew.

There are very few things “outside” of ourselves that we can actually change. Remember the Serenity Prayer:

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.

–Reinhold Niebuhr

“Wisdom to know the difference” is the vital key. We may think fast on our feet, know a great many things and possess the ability to dazzle other people with our stories, yet none of these valuable gifts matter when we lack the wisdom to be true, honest, real and caring.

Why true, honest, real and caring? Trust is the glue that binds people together. Graceful acceptance develops after we have discovered the benefits of being real.

Dick Warn is the author of The Miracle Minute, a weekly email sent free to readers around the world. www.TheMiracleMinute.com His latest book, Mystical Mentor can be previewed at www.MysticalMentor.com

Posted on March 18, 2013, in Personal Growth. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

